new duvet cover on top of new slipcover

img_1845The sewing bug got me. It’s uplifting to see my chair look better and yesterday I made this new duvet cover for my down filled throw.  I think it looks good on top of the chair. I flipped over the corner so you can see the ultra plush fleece I used for the backing. The front fabric is a batik and the blue trim is a thinner fleece.

It was more difficult because I used fleece. It stretched as I was sewing and I had to rip and fix it. I liked the color of the blue, that’s why I picked fleece for the trim instead of cotton. The cottons weren’t the exact blue I wanted. That’s one thing I really enjoy about sewing, the colors and textures in my hands. I have to keep my hands out of my paint, but sewing is kind of sculptural in the sense that it’s a more tactile experience than painting.Sewing is as challenging as painting. Unexpected problems always happen. You have to stop and figure out how to make it come out the way you want it.

Now the muse is telling me to make a jacket, so I must go out and shop for fabric. I have an old one  I can trace a pattern from. It’s covered in fringe but looks simple to make.

Leave a Reply

