fringed jacket

img_1848Darling, will this make me look fat?

hahahahah I don’t care. I’m wearing it anyway.

The story of the jacket.

Long ago my Mom showed me this pattern and asked me if I wanted her to make it for me. I said, “OhHellYeah!!” because I’ve always loved fringe. The pattern said the jacket comes out looking elegant in black white and gray, and it looks striking in red white and  blue. I asked for the red white and blue one. I wore it all the time. Then when I couldn’t wash it again, because the fringe was not good anymore, I asked her if she still had the pattern. She didn’t.  I kept the jacket in the closet for years, sometimes I thought  about trying to copy it. I knew it would be difficult and time consuming so I put it off. Finally I got around to it. It took weeks. But I can’t find something I like when I shop for a jacket, so I had to do it. I tried to make a pattern by pinning the old jacket to aimg_1847 big sheet of packing material I had and tracing around it. The back front and sleeves of the jacket are all one piece. I cut a pattern out of denim and made a few corrections, trying to improve my rough first pattern. The denim felt too stiff and wouldn’t drape as nicely as my old jacket, which had a shell made of dress lining fabric. So the third time I cut the shape, I used the blue dress lining fabric and it seemed ok. Making that fringe took f-o-r-e-v-e-r- I had to cut 3 yards of the fabric into 1″ bias strips and join them up into one long piece. I had to draw chalk lines on the shell 1/2″ apart on an angle like the original. Then I had to sew each strip on until I had the whole shell covered. I worked on it a few days all day and a few days part of the day. Some days I had to let it go and do something else. But then I still had to go back and cut each strip the whole length to make a fringe. I had to do a lot of hand sewing because I wanted to cover my cut edges on the seams and I don’t have a serger. So, omg, what a big job that was.

Isn’t that a beautiful dress by YSL? I want it! And I think I might be able to STEAL IT!!! hahaha I really do want to get out of the house and paint in plein air, but not today. I’m going to  look at the pattern books and try to find a pattern that I can adapt to make the YSL. I would rather have it as a top than a dress. I could cut it off at the bottom of the black line. If I can’t find a pattern to use to fake the YSL, then I might not do it.

2 thoughts on “fringed jacket”

  1. Your fringed jacket is VERY cool and I do love the fringe! I love that dress too! I had a sewing challenge on my blog last December and one of the sewing bloggers entered an exact copy of that YSL dress into the Challenge. If you check my December posts you will be able to find her name and a link to her blog, perhaps she went into detail about how she made her’s? I think her name was “Fadanista”?

    Like

Leave a Reply

