tie dye t shirt with beaded fringe

IMG_1870

That was FUN!

My first 2 attempts to tie dye didn’t work out as well as I hoped, so I watched a few U Tube videos and got some good tips. This is the ice dying method. You scrunch up your shirt and put rubber bands all over it, then put it on top of a rack so the dye can drain. That way the shirt isn’t sitting in dye getting too dark and mucking up your colors. Instead of mixing the powdered dye with water and squirting it on with the squeeze bottles in the kit, you cover your t shirt with ice cubes and drop the powdered dye on top of the ice. When the ice melts the dye soaks into the shirt and gives this water color look.

The instructions on the kit say to wait 6 to 8 hours before untying the shirt and rinsing it, but the U Tube videos say to wait 24 hours, so I waited until the next day to rinse the shirt.

Also, the videos recommended you use soda ash to set the dye better and make the colors come out brighter. I got a pack of the soda ash and followed the instructions. I think it  did help keep my colors from washing out in the rinse part of the process.

I thought this one came out ok. I wanted to put a fringe on it because the shirt is long on me, but I wasn’t really sure how to add the beads and had to try a couple times sewing them on. Finally I got the hang of sewing the beads on, but it took a long time.

My wardrobe wouldn’t be complete without some tie dye. I need to do more.

 

2 thoughts on “tie dye t shirt with beaded fringe”

    1. Thanks! One guy on utube showed how to fold it so you get a symmetrical design. Fold it in the center of the front and back before scrunching. The fold is usually on the sides. so the sleeves are facing up when you scrunch. I hope you can picture what I mean

      Like

Leave a Reply

