the Mondrian top in colors I like

IMG_1872This is my second try on making the Mondrian top. I like this one more because these are colors I enjoy wearing. The first time I made the top I was only trying to copy the original, but I don’t enjoy wearing red, gray, white and black. The monotony of the colors in the stores is what I’m trying to escape.

Quilting Adventures has the most beautiful cotton prints but I’ll have to iron this every time I wash it. The fabric  stores don’t have as great a color selection in polyester. Maybe I could make a Mondrian sweat shirt though, because they do have nice bright colors in fleece. That’s a project for the future.

Another reason I like this version more is because it fits better. After I used the pattern 5 times, and made a few alterations to it, I got it to fit just right.

So, it took 2 tries, and it was difficult, because I’m not very experienced at piecing, but I finally made a Mondrian top that will be fun for me to wear. And I hear the style is making a comeback.

Leave a Reply

